Best HRMS software in India · Updated 30 Sep 2026
Best HRMS software in India (2026): a shortlist by team size.
There is no single best HRMS. The right one depends on how many people you pay and whether you need payroll now. This page lists 15 HRMS products, compares the 12 that publish prices at 5, 25 and 100 employees, before GST, and gives a shortlist for each team size.
Key facts
- As reviewed on 30 Sep 2026, LekhaHR Operations costs ₹395 a month for 5 people and ₹1,975 for 25 on annual billing, before GST, with no base fee and no minimum.
- Of the 19 priced plans compared on 30 Sep 2026, 8 list attendance, leave and payroll together.
- As reviewed on 30 Sep 2026, Kredily's Free Forever plan covers payroll calculation, web clock-in attendance and leave with no headcount limit stated.
- As reviewed on 30 Sep 2026, Keka, Darwinbox and peopleHum publish no rupee plan prices.
No. 01
How we compared
because a shortlist you cannot check is an advert.
How did we compare HRMS software in India?
We used only each vendor's published price for a named plan, as reviewed on 30 Sep 2026, before GST. For every plan we recorded the modules it lists, any base fee or minimum, the monthly bill at 5, 25 and 100 employees, and the limits of any free plan. Vendors that publish no price are listed without figures.
- ModulesAttendance, leave, and payroll with PF, ESI, PT and TDS, as each plan's page lists them. A module the page does not list is shown as not listed, not assumed.
- Minimum or base feeAny flat fee that covers a first block of employees, and any minimum number of billed users.
- Cost at 5, 25 and 100The monthly bill on the plan's published terms, before GST. LekhaHR is Operations on annual billing.
- Free-plan limitsThe headcount and module limits each vendor publishes for its free edition.
- Like for likeShortlists compare plans that list attendance, leave and payroll. A plan sold only together with another product, such as a CRM, is in the full table but not in the shortlists.
- Billing basisWhere a plan is billed monthly, it is compared with LekhaHR's monthly rates; other plans are compared with its annual rates.
- What we left outRatings, reviews, logos and unpublished quotes. Nothing here is a ranking of quality.
No. 02
Shortlists
because a 6-person office and a 150-person company should not read the same list.
Which HRMS fits a team of 2 to 10, 11 to 50 or 51 to 200?
For each team size we list the plans that cover attendance, leave and payroll, ordered by their monthly cost at the larger headcount. Order is by price only, not quality. LekhaHR appears twice, annual and monthly billing, so a monthly-billed plan can be set beside its monthly row.
2 to 10 people
Plans with attendance, leave and payroll, by monthly cost at 10 people.
| Plan | 5 people | 10 people |
|---|---|---|
| KredilyFree ForeverBest for a team of any size that wants payroll calculation, web clock-in attendance and leave at no cost, within one attendance rule and one salary structure. | ₹0 | ₹0 |
| LekhaHR oursOperations, annual billingBest for per-employee billing with no base fee and no minimum, with attendance, leave and payroll. | ₹395 | ₹790 |
| LekhaHR oursOperations, monthly billingBest for the same plan billed month to month, to set beside plans that bill monthly. | ₹495 | ₹990 |
| Zoho People + Zoho PayrollPeople Professional with Payroll Standard, monthly billingBest for teams already on Zoho that want attendance and timesheets, with payroll as a second product. | ₹600 | ₹1,200 |
| KredilyPayroll OSBest for teams up to 25 that want salary payouts and challans on a flat monthly fee. | ₹1,249 | ₹1,249 |
| KredilyProfessionalBest for teams up to 25 that need several leave and salary rules and GPS attendance on a flat fee. | ₹1,749 | ₹1,749 |
| Pocket HRMSStandardBest for teams of 50 or more, since the plan covers 50 employees in its base price. | ₹2,995 | ₹2,995 |
| greytHRGrowthBest for teams near 50 that want payroll, leave, attendance and shifts on one flat fee. | ₹4,495 | ₹4,495 |
11 to 50 people
Plans with attendance, leave and payroll, by monthly cost at 50 people.
| Plan | 25 people | 50 people |
|---|---|---|
| KredilyFree ForeverBest for a team of any size that wants payroll calculation, web clock-in attendance and leave at no cost, within one attendance rule and one salary structure. | ₹0 | ₹0 |
| KredilyPayroll OSBest for teams up to 25 that want salary payouts and challans on a flat monthly fee. | ₹1,249 | ₹2,499 |
| Pocket HRMSStandardBest for teams of 50 or more, since the plan covers 50 employees in its base price. | ₹2,995 | ₹2,995 |
| LekhaHR oursOperations, annual billingBest for per-employee billing with no base fee and no minimum, with attendance, leave and payroll. | ₹1,975 | ₹3,450 |
| KredilyProfessionalBest for teams up to 25 that need several leave and salary rules and GPS attendance on a flat fee. | ₹1,749 | ₹3,499 |
| LekhaHR oursOperations, monthly billingBest for the same plan billed month to month, to set beside plans that bill monthly. | ₹2,475 | ₹4,450 |
| greytHRGrowthBest for teams near 50 that want payroll, leave, attendance and shifts on one flat fee. | ₹4,495 | ₹4,495 |
| HROneBasicBest for teams near 50 that want core HR, time office and payroll on one flat fee. | ₹4,950 | ₹4,950 |
51 to 200 people
Plans with attendance, leave and payroll, by monthly cost at 200 people.
| Plan | 100 people | 200 people |
|---|---|---|
| KredilyFree ForeverBest for a team of any size that wants payroll calculation, web clock-in attendance and leave at no cost, within one attendance rule and one salary structure. | ₹0 | ₹0 |
| LekhaHR oursOperations, annual billingBest for per-employee billing with no base fee and no minimum, with attendance, leave and payroll. | ₹5,700 | ₹9,600 |
| KredilyPayroll OSBest for teams up to 25 that want salary payouts and challans on a flat monthly fee. | ₹4,999 | ₹9,999 |
| Pocket HRMSStandardBest for teams of 50 or more, since the plan covers 50 employees in its base price. | ₹5,995 | ₹11,995 |
| LekhaHR oursOperations, monthly billingBest for the same plan billed month to month, to set beside plans that bill monthly. | ₹7,700 | ₹13,600 |
| KredilyProfessionalBest for teams up to 25 that need several leave and salary rules and GPS attendance on a flat fee. | ₹6,999 | ₹13,999 |
| greytHRGrowthBest for teams near 50 that want payroll, leave, attendance and shifts on one flat fee. | ₹8,745 | ₹17,245 |
| HROneBasicBest for teams near 50 that want core HR, time office and payroll on one flat fee. | ₹9,900 | ₹19,800 |
Payroll first
Payroll products and payroll-led plans, by monthly cost at 25 people; “n/a” means the plan stops below that size.
| Plan | 5 people | 25 people |
|---|---|---|
| Zoho PayrollStandard, annual billingBest for payroll only, one flat fee up to 25 employees. | ₹1,000 | ₹1,000 |
| greytHREssentialBest for payroll and leave for up to 50 on one flat fee, where attendance is kept elsewhere. | ₹2,495 | ₹2,495 |
| RazorpayX PayrollEliteBest for payroll for 50 to 100 employees on one plan. | ₹6,499 | ₹6,499 |
| Zoho PayrollFreeBest for payroll only, free up to 10 employees. | ₹0 | n/a |
| RazorpayX PayrollPrimeBest for payroll with salary payouts, for up to 20 employees. | ₹3,499 | n/a |
Free plans
Free editions, with the headcount limit each vendor publishes. LekhaHR has no free plan.
| Plan | 5 people | Published terms |
|---|---|---|
| KredilyFree ForeverBest for a team of any size that wants payroll calculation, web clock-in attendance and leave at no cost, within one attendance rule and one salary structure. | ₹0 | free, no headcount limit stated |
| Zoho PeopleFreeBest for up to 5 people who need an employee database and leave, with no attendance or payroll. | ₹0 | free up to 5 people |
| Zoho PayrollFreeBest for payroll only, free up to 10 employees. | ₹0 | free up to 10 people |
| factoHRFreeBest for up to 20 people who need employee records, letters and payslip generation only. | ₹0 | free up to 20 people |
Competitor figures: each vendor's published price for the named plan, excluding GST, as reviewed on 30 Sep 2026. Prices change. LekhaHR: Operations, annual billing, before GST, from its own price list.
No. 03
Every plan
because a price without its terms is half a fact.
What does each HRMS cost at 5, 25 and 100 employees?
This is the full HRMS software list we compared: 19 priced plans from 11 vendors, plus LekhaHR, with each plan's published terms, what it lists, and the monthly bill before GST. “n/a” means the plan does not cover that headcount. Billing bases differ, so each row says which one applies.
| Vendor · plan | Published terms | Lists | 5 | 25 | 100 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| LekhaHR oursOperations, annual billing | ₹79 per employee a month for the first 25, less per head in each band after; no base fee, no minimum; GST extra | Attendance, leave, payroll with PF, ESI, PT and TDS worked out (you or your accountant file and pay), onboarding and exits | ₹395 | ₹1,975 | ₹5,700 |
| LekhaHR oursOperations, monthly billing | ₹99 per employee a month for the first 25, less per head in each band after; no base fee, no minimum; GST extra | As Operations above | ₹495 | ₹2,475 | ₹7,700 |
| LekhaHR oursBusiness, annual billing | ₹119 per employee a month for the first 25, less per head in each band after; GST extra | Everything in Operations, plus expenses, performance and timesheets | ₹595 | ₹2,975 | ₹9,400 |
| KredilyFree Forever | free, no headcount limit stated; billing not statedSubject to an active usage policy; one leave and attendance rule, one salary structure. | Payroll with PF/ESI/PT/TDS calculation, Core HR, Web clock-in attendance, Leave | ₹0 | ₹0 | ₹0 |
| KredilyPayroll OS | ₹1,249 a month covers up to 25, then ₹50 each; monthly billing | Everything in Free (payroll calculation, web clock-in attendance, leave), Salary payouts, PF/ESI challans, Form 16 (now Form 130) (now Form 130) | ₹1,249 | ₹1,249 | ₹4,999 |
| KredilyProfessional | ₹1,749 a month covers up to 25, then ₹70 each; monthly billing | Everything in Payroll OS, Unlimited leave, attendance and salary rules, Selfie/GPS attendance, Expenses | ₹1,749 | ₹1,749 | ₹6,999 |
| greytHREssential | ₹2,495 a month covers up to 50, then ₹45 each; monthly billingNo attendance module in Essential. | Payroll, Leave, Core HR basic | ₹2,495 | ₹2,495 | ₹4,745 |
| greytHRGrowth | ₹4,495 a month covers up to 50, then ₹85 each; monthly billing | Payroll, Leave, Core HR, Attendance and shifts | ₹4,495 | ₹4,495 | ₹8,745 |
| ZimyoBasic | ₹80 per person a month, 50-user minimum; billing not stated | Core HR, Time and attendance, Payroll, Full and final | ₹4,000 | ₹4,000 | ₹8,000 |
| Zoho PeopleFree | free up to 5 people; billing not statedNo attendance in the free edition. | Employee database, Leave, Documents | ₹0 | n/a | n/a |
| Zoho PeopleEssential HR | ₹60 per person a month, 5-user minimum; monthly billing | Employee database, Leave, Onboarding and offboarding, Documents | ₹300 | ₹1,500 | ₹6,000 |
| Zoho People + Zoho PayrollPeople Professional with Payroll Standard, monthly billing | ₹120 per person a month, 5-user minimum + ₹1,250 a month covers up to 25, then ₹50 each; monthly billingTwo products billed separately; payroll is free while the headcount fits Zoho Payroll's free edition. | Everything in Essential HR, Attendance, Timesheets, Rosters, Payroll only | ₹600 | ₹4,250 | ₹17,000 |
| Zoho PayrollFree | free up to 10 people; billing not stated | Payroll with EPF/ESI/PT/LWF/TDS, Payslips, Self-service | ₹0 | n/a | n/a |
| Zoho PayrollStandard, annual billing | ₹1,000 a month covers up to 25, then ₹40 each; annual billing | Payroll only | ₹1,000 | ₹1,000 | ₹4,000 |
| RazorpayX PayrollPrime | ₹3,499 a month; up to 20 employees; annual billingHow many employees ₹3,499 covers is not stated; shown here for up to 20. | Payroll, Payslips, Salary payouts | ₹3,499 | n/a | n/a |
| RazorpayX PayrollElite | ₹6,499 a month covers up to 50, then ₹150 each; up to 100 employees; annual billingShown as a reduced price (struck ₹9,499). | Payroll, Payslips, Salary payouts | ₹6,499 | ₹6,499 | ₹13,999 |
| HROneBasic | ₹4,950 a month covers up to 50, then ₹99 each; billing not stated | Core HR, Time office (attendance, leave), Payroll | ₹4,950 | ₹4,950 | ₹9,900 |
| Pocket HRMSStandard | ₹2,995 a month covers up to 50, then ₹60 each; annual billingPlus a one-time implementation fee, amount not published. | Payroll, Attendance, Leave, Statutory compliance | ₹2,995 | ₹2,995 | ₹5,995 |
| factoHRFree | free up to 20 people; billing not statedHRIS only: no attendance, leave or payroll processing listed. | Employee data, Letter generation, Payslip generation | ₹0 | n/a | n/a |
| factoHRCore | ₹4,999 a month covers up to 50, then ₹99 each; annual billing | Core HR, Attendance and leave, Payroll, Onboarding | ₹4,999 | ₹4,999 | ₹9,949 |
| SumHRHRMS subscription | ₹119 per person a month; annual billing₹1,428 a year ÷ 12. No plan detail, minimum or module list published. | not listed | ₹595 | ₹2,975 | ₹11,900 |
| ViveLeadHRMS add-on with CRM Starter, yearly | ₹578 per person a month, 3-user minimum; annual billingThe lowest published way to get the HRMS add-on: ₹499 + ₹79 per user a month on yearly billing. | CRM, Attendance, Leave, Onboarding, Payroll with PF/ESIC/TDS | ₹2,890 | ₹14,450 | ₹57,800 |
| Kekaprice on request | Price not published: plan names are shown without prices | not compared | not published | not published | not published |
| Darwinboxprice on request | Price not published: no public rate card | not compared | not published | not published | not published |
| peopleHumprice on request | Price not published: no rupee price; plans are packaged on request | not compared | not published | not published | not published |
Competitor figures: each vendor's published price for the named plan, excluding GST, as reviewed on 30 Sep 2026. Prices change.
Each vendor's plans are set out in more detail, dated, in HR software pricing in India.
No. 04
Where we cost more
because a comparison that only shows where the author wins is not a comparison.
Where does LekhaHR cost more than other HRMS plans?
LekhaHR is not the lowest price at any of the sizes below. Free plans cost less at every size, and several flat-fee plans cost less once a team fills their block. Each line names the plan, its monthly cost before GST and what it covers, against LekhaHR Operations on the same billing basis: monthly-billed plans against LekhaHR's monthly rates, the rest against its annual rates.
At 5 people · LekhaHR ₹395 annual, ₹495 monthly
- Kredily · Free Forever₹0payroll calculation, web clock-in attendance and leave · free
- Zoho People · Free₹0HR records and leave, no payroll · free
- Zoho Payroll · Free₹0payroll only · free
- factoHR · Free₹0HR records only · free
- Zoho People · Essential HR₹300HR records and leave, no payroll · billed monthly; LekhaHR monthly ₹495
At 25 people · LekhaHR ₹1,975 annual, ₹2,475 monthly
- Kredily · Free Forever₹0payroll calculation, web clock-in attendance and leave · free
- Zoho Payroll · Standard, annual billing₹1,000payroll only · annual or not stated; against LekhaHR annual
- Kredily · Payroll OS₹1,249with attendance, leave and payroll · billed monthly; LekhaHR monthly ₹2,475
- Zoho People · Essential HR₹1,500HR records and leave, no payroll · billed monthly; LekhaHR monthly ₹2,475
- Kredily · Professional₹1,749with attendance, leave and payroll · billed monthly; LekhaHR monthly ₹2,475
At 50 people · LekhaHR ₹3,450 annual, ₹4,450 monthly
- Kredily · Free Forever₹0payroll calculation, web clock-in attendance and leave · free
- Zoho Payroll · Standard, annual billing₹2,000payroll only · annual or not stated; against LekhaHR annual
- greytHR · Essential₹2,495payroll and leave, no attendance · billed monthly; LekhaHR monthly ₹4,450
- Kredily · Payroll OS₹2,499with attendance, leave and payroll · billed monthly; LekhaHR monthly ₹4,450
- Pocket HRMS · Standard₹2,995with attendance, leave and payroll · annual or not stated; against LekhaHR annual
- Zoho People · Essential HR₹3,000HR records and leave, no payroll · billed monthly; LekhaHR monthly ₹4,450
- Kredily · Professional₹3,499with attendance, leave and payroll · billed monthly; LekhaHR monthly ₹4,450
At 100 people · LekhaHR ₹5,700 annual, ₹7,700 monthly
- Kredily · Free Forever₹0payroll calculation, web clock-in attendance and leave · free
- Zoho Payroll · Standard, annual billing₹4,000payroll only · annual or not stated; against LekhaHR annual
- greytHR · Essential₹4,745payroll and leave, no attendance · billed monthly; LekhaHR monthly ₹7,700
- Kredily · Payroll OS₹4,999with attendance, leave and payroll · billed monthly; LekhaHR monthly ₹7,700
- Zoho People · Essential HR₹6,000HR records and leave, no payroll · billed monthly; LekhaHR monthly ₹7,700
- Kredily · Professional₹6,999with attendance, leave and payroll · billed monthly; LekhaHR monthly ₹7,700
With attendance, leave and payroll compared like for like, LekhaHR Operations costs less per month than greytHR Growth, Zoho People + Zoho Payroll People Professional with Payroll Standard, monthly billing, HROne Basic, Pocket HRMS Standard, factoHR Core at 5, 25 and 100 employees, on the published prices reviewed 30 Sep 2026, before GST, each on the same billing basis as the plan it is set against.
Competitor figures: each vendor's published price for the named plan, excluding GST, as reviewed on 30 Sep 2026. Prices change.
No. 05
How to choose
because the cheapest plan at 8 people can be the dearest at 30.
How do you choose an HRMS in India?
Start from your headcount and the modules you need this year, not from a feature list. Ask who files and pays the returns. Then compare the monthly bill at today's size and next year's on the same billing basis, check for a base fee or minimum, and ask how statutory changes reach each payslip.
- 01
Count people twice
Write down your headcount today and in twelve months. Price every plan at both, because flat fees and minimums change the order.
- 02
List the modules you need now
Attendance, leave and payroll with PF, ESI, PT and TDS are the usual first three. A payroll-only product plus a separate HR tool is two bills.
- 03
Ask who files
Some payroll products file PF, ESI and TDS returns and pay the dues; others, LekhaHR included, work out the figures for you or your accountant to file. Decide which you need before you compare prices.
- 04
Look for a base fee or a minimum
Some plans charge for 25 or 50 employees whatever your size, or bill at least a set number of users.
- 05
Read the free plan's limits
Headcount caps, one salary structure, or no attendance. Check which limit you will hit first.
- 06
Ask how statutory changes arrive
The EPF wage ceiling changed on 17 Sep 2026. Ask each vendor how a mid-month change shows on a payslip, who checks it, and whether it applies the Code wages 50% test, counting the employer's PF as the Ministry's FAQs of 16 Mar 2026 say.
- 07
Add GST and the billing basis
Compare on the same billing basis, and add GST where the price is quoted before it.
- 08
Check PT and LWF for each state
Optional, if you pay people in more than one state: check professional tax and Labour Welfare Fund for each state you pay in.
No. 06
Questions
because the question is rarely “which is best”, and usually “which is best for us”.
Questions about choosing HRMS software in India
What is the best HRMS software in India for a small business?
There is no single best; it depends on your headcount and whether you need payroll now. For 2 to 10 people wanting attendance, leave and payroll, the plans with the lowest published cost at 10 people on 30 Sep 2026 include Kredily, Zoho People with Zoho Payroll, Pocket HRMS, greytHR. LekhaHR, ours, is on that list too.
Which HRMS software is free in India?
Kredily Free Forever covers payroll calculation, web clock-in attendance and leave with no headcount limit stated, subject to an active usage policy. Zoho People is free up to 5 users, without attendance or payroll. Zoho Payroll is free up to 10 employees for payroll only. factoHR Free covers records and payslips for up to 20. LekhaHR has no free plan.
Which HRMS has no minimum headcount?
Among the priced plans here, LekhaHR bills per employee with no base fee and no minimum, and Kredily's free plan has no minimum either. Several paid plans charge a flat fee that covers the first 25 or 50 employees, and others bill at least 3, 5 or 50 users. SumHR publishes a per-employee rate without stating a minimum.
What does HRMS software cost for 50 employees?
On published prices before GST, reviewed 30 Sep 2026, plans with attendance, leave and payroll cost from ₹2,499 a month (Kredily Payroll OS) to ₹8,500 (Zoho People with Zoho Payroll) for 50 employees. LekhaHR Operations is ₹3,450 a month on annual billing, ₹4,450 billed monthly. Free plans exist, with the limits listed on this page.
Keka vs greytHR: how do their prices compare?
As reviewed on 30 Sep 2026, Keka does not publish plan prices; its pricing page shows plan names without figures, so ask it for a quote at your headcount. greytHR publishes Essential at ₹2,495 a month covers up to 50, then ₹45 each, without attendance, and Growth at ₹4,495 a month covers up to 50, then ₹85 each.
How do I choose an HRMS in India?
Note your headcount now and in a year, and the modules you need. Ask who files and pays PF, ESI and TDS, and whether payroll applies the Code wages 50% test with employer PF counted. Compare the bill at both sizes on one billing basis; check any base fee or minimum, free-plan limits, and PT and LWF per state.
Is LekhaHR on this list because you make it?
Yes, LekhaHR is ours, and it is labelled that way in every list. It is compared on the same published-price terms as every other plan, before GST. It is not the lowest price everywhere: free plans cost less at any size, and some flat-fee plans cost less at 25 and 100 people. That list is on this page.
Competitor figures: each vendor's published price for the named plan, excluding GST, as reviewed on 30 Sep 2026. Prices change.
Invitation
By invitation.
LekhaHR is HR and payroll software for small teams in India, priced per employee with no base fee and no minimum.
because ₹395 a month before GST is what five people cost on Operations, annual billing.